LDAP Debugging

Installation, OS related topics. Topics for installation issues and operating system issues related to TODCM.

LDAP Debugging

Postby MitchellPolgar » November 15th, 2011, 2:01 pm

We are trying to install TODCM v1.1.1.0 on a WAMP Server (apache 2.2.11, php 5.3.0, mysql 5.1.36). I did have some troubles at the initial install, but once I manually created the TODCM username in mysql install was a snap. Now we are trying to drop in our LDAP server with Active Directory on windows 2008 server. We know that LDAP is working correctly because we use it for other web apps (ie Moodle). Here is what I have configured:

LDAP Server: sdxxxxxx2.sxxxxx9.lxxxxl
User search attribute: sAMAccountName
Search DN: dc=sxxxxx9,dc=lxxxxl
LDAP user account DN: cn=Ldap User,cn=Users,dc=sxxxxx9,dc=lxxxxl
LDAP password: ldapuser

I then manually created a username that matches a username for someone in our LDAP tree (myself) and changed the drop down to LDAP/AD.

Each time I try to log in, I get the "Invalid user name or incorrect password" error. I'm wondering if there's any kind of error output or debugging coded into this platform so that I can troubleshoot further to see if I can find where the issue is occurring, or if anyone knows if there are any known issues with the Windows version of TODCM and LDAP.

Thanks again for your help.

Mitch
MitchellPolgar
 
Posts: 3
Joined: November 15th, 2011, 2:33 am

Re: LDAP Debugging

Postby David Tong » November 15th, 2011, 3:22 pm

If you are not using the exact LDAP configuration from your Moodle installation then I suggest to use a tool such as the Softerra LDAP browser to make sure your TODCM specific LDAP configuration works. You can find the Softerra Browser here: http://www.ldapbrowser.com/info_softerr ... rowser.htm.

The LDAP configuration for Softerra is very similar to Moodle and TODCM so if it doesn't work in Softerra then it is most likely not going to work in TODCM. Also, make sure the Windows box running TODCM can resolve the hostname "sdxxxxxx2.sxxxxx9.lxxxxl", you can use the DOS command ping or nslookup to see if you can get the IP address, you can try using the actual IP address instead of "sdxxxxxx2.sxxxxx9.lxxxxl" for the LDAP Server setting.

Yes, you can turn on logging and the TODCM LDAP plugin will print some error messages if there are LDAP connect errors. This forum post has the instructions for turning on the TODCM error log: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=3. Search for the word logging and you will find the exact location of the instructions.
David Tong - TODCM Founder.
http://todcm.org - TODCM open source project site.
http://www.tillersoft.net - Operator and maintainer of the TODCM project.
David Tong
TODCM Team
 
Posts: 95
Joined: June 4th, 2011, 4:17 pm

Re: LDAP Debugging

Postby David Tong » November 15th, 2011, 3:25 pm

Another thing to check is to make sure your PHP installation has the LDAP extension enabled.
David Tong - TODCM Founder.
http://todcm.org - TODCM open source project site.
http://www.tillersoft.net - Operator and maintainer of the TODCM project.
David Tong
TODCM Team
 
Posts: 95
Joined: June 4th, 2011, 4:17 pm

Re: LDAP Debugging

Postby MitchellPolgar » November 15th, 2011, 3:31 pm

That was exactly it!


ERROR - 2011-11-15 10:28:06 --> todcm2 CMSERROR: auth_ldap::_check_ldap_lib - PHP LDAP library is missing.
MitchellPolgar
 
Posts: 3
Joined: November 15th, 2011, 2:33 am

Re: LDAP Debugging

Postby MitchellPolgar » November 15th, 2011, 3:33 pm

Thanks for your prompt reply.
MitchellPolgar
 
Posts: 3
Joined: November 15th, 2011, 2:33 am


Return to System Admin

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron